Home Forums Poker Blogs Tournament Blogs Keeping it simple – A tournament player

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 35 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Introduction

Hello everyone, my name is Daniel. I am a low stakes MTT grinder from the UK looking to start blogging here on RYE. I previously had a blog on a different site but I wanted to continue it here so I could also get more involved with the community at RYE. Here’s a short intro about my poker life so far.

I first started playing poker in January 2017. Prior to that, I had zero experience playing NLHE and I was a fresh university graduate trying to find out what to do with myself. Like most people, I left university with no money, no self-esteem and no clear direction. Just after Christmas 2016, I decided to gather up all the money I had been given and join a coaching for profits (CFP) course at BestPokerCoaching to learn how to crush 6-max hyper SNGs.

The head coaches for that course were Bencb and Julian “HealTheWorld” Thomas; two amazing high stakes tournament grinders and coaches. I learned pretty much everything I know about poker from their content which included many strategy videos, group sessions and 1on1 coaching.

During my first 9 months, I focused most of my efforts to studying the game rather than playing. This was because I wanted to maximise the value I would get from the coaching before I switched my focus towards grinding. Although I was trying to study all different aspects of the game, my main focus was on understanding how to play in high ICM situations because this is where I was told we will lose/win the most money. After 6 months dedicated to SNGs, we were all advised by the coaches to focus our efforts on MTTs because of the way that Pokerstars changed their rakeback system in 2017 (reward chests lol).