Home Forums Poker Blogs Sit and Go Blogs Getting out of 6-max Hyper Microstakes

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 147 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hey guys!

I am an 18-year-old Dutch student that grinded out a bankroll of 1.8k from scratch. Lifetime I am up more, but I cashed out some of it to invest in software and in improving my game. For example, I have an ICMIZER subscription and I also invested in the full 6 max hyper course on this site.

Poker background

I started playing on 888 poker 2 years ago, grinding out a roll playing 1$ Sit n go’s. After having some rungood in these and in some MTT’s, I was able to start playing more and bigger field MTT’s. I also increased the numbers of tables I played at the same time to 6. My results at the 1-3$ tournaments were decent, however, things didn’t seem to work on the 5$+ tournaments.

Traffic on 888 poker is not always great, so I decided to move a part of my roll to Pokerstars in order to clear (a part of) the $600 first deposit bonus playing 6-max hypers on Stars. I was able to up my volume to playing 18 tables simultaneously and to still grind out a 4% ROI at the $1.50. When I first tried to move up to the $3.50’s, I had a 35 buy in instant downswing in like 75 games….. Dropped back to the $1.50’s, won that back, tried some other shots and now I am up close to 80 buy ins over 1500 games in the $3.50 (with the first downswing included). My ROI in this stake is 5.5% so far, playing 8 tables simultaneously.

A few weeks ago, I invested in the 6-max Hyper course on this site. While studying and removing leaks, I try to move up the $7 limits. I have played just 200 of them so far, but at least I am 18 buy-ins up so far and I feel like I have an edge.

Things I have difficulties with and want to improve

There are a few things that I really want to improve in order to become a successful poker player.

Playing too conservative