Home Forums Poker Blogs Tournament Blogs Finding balance

Viewing 15 posts - 1 through 15 (of 129 total)
  • Author
    Participant

Hey guys

My name is Aaron and I’ve decided to begin blogging here as after reading the threads for a long time I realize it is making no sense for me to not have my own blog. I currently live in Australia and I’m in my final year of university finishing off my study in information systems. Been playing for a while and getting coachings from Ben for SNGs initially then now I’ve made the switch to playing cash and MTTs.

At the moment, I am mostly playing cash games apart from some MTTs on the weekends when I have more free time. Currently, I am balancing time between uni, poker and being part of a start-up with some uni friends. While I enjoy what I am doing and learning at uni it is quite difficult to balance my time between all the things I am doing. The start-up is a project that we’ve been working on to make a online community and platform for volunteering. We did a basic prototype of the platform and now we’re in the process of talking to some organisations to get them on board. So far what’s going well is that we have access to a cool co-working space after meeting with a really cool guy who’s mentoring us.

More on the side of poker. I am currently playing 50NL after switching from player SNG hypers and planning to move up when I can. Last month I had a struggle getting in much volume after starting uni again but I realize that just because I am “busy” doesn’t  mean it’s not possible to play more poker. It’s crazy when I think about it because I remember how much time I had in high school and how I wasted it. Now I still have a lot of freedom with two days of uni per week so I can easy make time for everything by being more aware, and actively scheduling things. I think it is actually better for me that I have so much to do.